Happy Thanksgiving and welcome back to the blog. I’d like to give you some spiel about how I’ve been really busy and blah blah blah. That would be true, BUT, in all honesty the reason I haven’t been posting all that often is because I haven’t been eating all that well, so I didn’t have much to share. I’m trying to make a pretty good run from now until Christmas though, so hopefully I’ll be popping up a little more often.

This afternoon I was working at Reader Alli’s house at lunchtime, and she made me a delicious salad with turkey, ham, and bacon in it. Don’t worry, there were veggies too, and it was awesome. Thanks Alli 🙂

For tonight’s dinner, I wanted to get a little creative. We bought some really good grass fed beef from Missouri Grass Fed Beef and I had been contemplating meatballs. Now, I like my meatballs made with a half-beef, half-pork mixture, but sadly, we didn’t have any pastured pork on-hand and I haven’t made it over to the butcher shop lately. Then, inspiration struck when I was at Sam’s Club in the form of boneless pork loin chops, reduced for quick sale (RQS).

I brought them home and hooked up my Kitchen Aid’s Food Grinder Attachment. Then I ground up 1.5 pounds of pork, which was only 3 of those chops, mixed it with 1.5 pounds of the grass-fed beef, added garlic, onion, red pepper flakes, basil, oregano, and 3 pastured eggs.

I had previously been wrestling with what kind of binding to add to them. Under most circumstances, I’d just add bread crumbs–homemade if I was being fancy, shop ‘n save brand Italian flavored if I wasn’t. Breadcrumbs aren’t exactly primal, though, and I was trying to decide between almond and tapioca flours when I decided to give some grated fresh parmesan cheese a whirl. It worked perfectly. I then sauteed them in olive oil and dunked them in Primal-approved marinara sauce, and served them up with some greens and some green beans. Yummy!

However, that left me with 6 pork chops–and a idea. If I could grind the meat, how difficult could it be to make homemade sausage? So I ground up the rest of it, cleaned and sanitized the food grinder attachment, and after helping Claire with inverse trig functions (we Trebings really know how to whoop it up on a Tuesday night), I set about finding some recipes.

I made this recipe for Alsatian Breakfast Sausage. We are going to try it tomorrow with breakfast, but Katy and I had a sneak preview tonight and it was good. I would also consider cooking it and then serving it as an appetizer with a nice sharp cheddar and some apple. I left the 1/4 teaspoon sugar in it for the first try–it made 8 patties, so you’re talking 1/32 teaspoon per patty (1/8 grams carbohydrates).

I also found this recipe for Breakfast Sausage on the awesome but non-Primal blog Homesick Texan. I didn’t have the spices for it, so I will make it up tomorrow and try it and report back.

I am also considering tinkering with the spices and making up my own recipe, but I wanted to try a few established recipes first before venturing out on my own.

I would seriously consider making my own sausage on a regular basis…it’s easy, you can make it in bulk and freeze it, and you know what is or is not in it.  All good things!

