File this under, “ways in which I’m grateful I’m not actually a cavewoman.”

Friday I came down with a really, really bad toothache. A good chunk of Saturday, all of Sunday, and all of Monday I was miserable. Tuesday I felt much better, thanks to antibiotics and a visit to Des Peres Dental Group, and today I am back on the horse. Tomorrow? Said tooth will be extracted, so we’ll see. Nevertheless, while I tend to regard modern medicine with a healthy amount of skepticism, I am happy for the existence of Keflex and Vicodin, and even happier for the existence of Demerol which works better than Vicodin and doesn’t give me trippy dreams.

Something possibly only interesting to me about this experience: my face has gotten a lot thinner since I started this whole primal thing. I’ve heard people say it’s from the inflammation in your body from eating grain, which I buy because if grains can cause inflammation in your stomach and other parts of your body, why not your face? Anyway, this weekend, the left side of my face was very swollen, and I thought it looked like a “before and after.” I also gained 2.5 pounds between body inflammation and water weight (water was the only thing that made my mouth feel better, and on Monday alone I drank 400 ounces of it), and then lost it when the infection subsided and the swelling went down.

Recipe time!

Reader BK recently requested the recipe for Nutty Blueberry Protein Balls, which I delivered to him one day at Starbucks as a Primal alternative to his beloved donuts. No, they were not so good that he immediately swore off donuts. But he did ask for the recipe, which is a pretty good endorsement!

Nutty Blueberry Protein Balls
(from Primal Blueprint: Quick and Easy Meals)

4 dates, pits removed
1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup macadamia nuts
2 T. coconut oil
1/2 c. fresh or defrosted blueberries (fresh works best)
1/2 c. unsweetened shredded coconut

Pulverize dates in a food processor until a paste forms, about 40 seconds (the paste will come together in a clump). Add walnuts and macadamia nuts and blend until very finely chopped, about 35 seconds. With the blade still running, drizzle in coconut oil and stop as soon as the oil is blended in. Scrape the batter into a bowl and stir in the blueberries and 1/4 cup of the coconut. Form the batter into round balls, then roll in leftover shredded coconut. Pop a few in your mouth immediately, and refrigerate the rest for snacking later.

Notes: I didn’t have macadamia nuts, and the budget was straining from purchasing hazelnuts for primal nutella, so I skipped them and used a mixture of walnuts and pecans I had on hand. Still delicious. Also, I’m planning to make these again with shaved dark chocolate in place of the blueberries. I’ll keep you posted.


