After church, we took the kiddos to Tony’s Donuts to pick out two donuts each. (I actually walked out of Tony’s Donuts with no donuts for myself.) When we got home, the kids scarfed their pastries and I started work on my first creation of the day: Chocolate Raspberry Smoothies. I didn’t take pictures, but here is the recipe:

1 scoop of Whole Foods 100% Whey Protein Powder (Vanilla flavored)
1/2 can of coconut milk (6.75 ounces)
2 tsp. cocoa
1 Tbsp. almond butter
1 cup raspberries
8-10 ice cubes

Directions: Mix all ingredients except ice in the blender. Add the ice cubes to your desired consistency.

Notes:

  • I like Whole Foods 365 Coconut Milk the best. It tastes good and it’s not as expensive as some of the others. Also, if you buy 24 cans (about a month’s supply for our family, you get 10% off.
  • The cocoa is more or less to taste.
  • The almond butter thickens it a little and gives it a creamy yummy taste, but you probably could do without it.
  • I would say this makes 2 servings. We all had a little to try it.

Nutrition (per serving):

  • 310 calories
  • 11.9 grams of protein
  • 13.7 grams of carbohydrates
  • 24 grams of fat
