It’s a classic story: Girl loves food. Girl gets food. Girl gets chunky. Girl tries goofy diet after goofy diet. Girl loses weight. Girl gets weight back.

Last year, I did Weight Watchers, and lost about 15 pounds. Then I regained it over the holidays. Then, inspired by my friend BK (no, not Burger King…although he has inspired me before too), Tim and I read and tried the Slow Carb Diet as described by Tim Farriss in The 4-Hour Body. BK has had tremendous success with it, and it worked for awhile for Tim and me, but I was gaining everything back on my Cheat Day (and by Cheat Day, I mean Festival of Gluttony) and then having a hard time settling back into the week. Plus, the kids were not having any of it. I knew I needed something that was practical for my family, and sustainable over time.

Three things happened more or less simultaneously that led us here. 1) Tim discovered the work of Gary Taubes, author of Why We Get Fat, and Good Calories, Bad Calories; 2) I found Sarah Fragoso’s great book, Everyday Paleo; and 3) Tim and I discovered separately and briefly discussed Mark Sisson’s marksdailyapple.com. But I didn’t actually change anything.

Until one day when, with all of this swirling around in my head, I skipped a high-protein breakfast that Tim had fixed, drank 32 ounces of Coke, had a huge Mexican business lunch with BK including more soda, and realized that I felt like garbage. I was tired and bloated, my weight was back at its highest point, I had had to try on three shirts that day to find one that was at all flattering, and I knew from my research that my liver and pancreas had to be trying to organize the rest of my organs into collectively bargaining for better working conditions.

I texted Tim, who was leaning toward a more primal/paleo approach, and said, I’m in. Let’s do this.

Since then, I’ve been voraciously reading anything I can get my hands on about the paleo/primal lifestyle. I’ve shopped at Trader Joes and (gasp) Whole Foods. I’ve tried cooking all sorts of new things. I’ve moved slowly, and lifted heavy things.

And I feel great.

So, here I am. I’m still learning about how to eat to fuel my body, and there are days when I feel like Mr. Pibb is calling my name and the people at Circle K are probably forming a search party for me, but I’m having more good days than bad and I want to share them with you. Partially for accountability, partially in celebration, and partially to tell anyone who is feeling like I did: there has got to be a better way. I think I’ve found it and I’m excited to share the journey with you.

